Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2016 FIFA Ballon d’Or


International journalists and national team coaches and captains have voted and the results are in: Cristiano Ronaldo is the best soccer player in the world. This is Ronaldo’s second time winning the award, third time winning the FIFA Player of the Year award. The Real Madrid world superstar is one of the world’s richest athletes and most marketable stars. Ronaldo and Messi have absolutely dominated this award, with either one winning the award since its inaugural 2010 season.

Year First Place Winner Second Place Third Place
2010 Lionel Messi Andres Iniesta Xavi
2011 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2012 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Andres Iniesta
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Franck Ribery
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer
2015 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Antoine Griezmann

This award caps off an incredible year for Ronaldo. Ronaldo led Real over rival Atletico Madrid to win the European champions, and led Portugal over France in the Euro 2016. Ronaldo is hands down the draw for people who buy, as this award only solidifies as the best player in the world. Ronaldo said, “I have the opportunity to thank all of my teammates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award. As you can imagine I feel so proud and happy to receive this amazing and beautiful ball, I am so happy.”