Shaq, Iverson, and Yao Headline 2016 Hall of Fame Class


The Big Aristotle

The Answer

The Great Wall of Yao

Shaquille O’Neal, Allen Iverson, and Yao Ming headline the 2016 Hall of Fame class. Three of the most prominent and memorable players from over the past two decades have been inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. These three players have 34 combined All-Star game appearances, two MVPs, two Rookie of the Year awards, three number one picks, and dozens of other accolades.

Shaquille O’Neal is arguably the most dominant force the NBA has ever seen. Shaq helped lead the Los Angeles Lakers to a threepeat from 2000-2002 and then help lead the Miami Heat to their first championship in 2006. Shaq is not only known for his on-court stardom, but for one of the most authentic and outgoing personalties the league has ever seen. Shaq is a fantastic ambassador for the game and will be for a long time.

It is ironic that Shaq and Allen Iverson head to the Hall together. Shaq stood at 7’1″ and 325 pounds, while Iverson dominated the league in a different way with this 6’0″ 165 pounds. Iverson is known for his handle, his crossover, and his killer attitude. Iverson proved that you don’t need to go all out in practice in order to be a Hall of Famer. Philadelphia would sell a whole lot of more 76ers tickets if they had a player like Iverson on the roster today. But hey, trust the process!

Yao Ming was a world wonder when he was came into the league as the first overall pick in 2002. At 7’6″, Yao defined science by being an All-Star worthy player. Ming not only produced at a high level, but influenced the game on a global scale. Yao is deserving of the Hall of Fame.

Full 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class:

Shaquille O’Neal

Allen Iverson

Yao Ming

Sheryl Swoopes

Cumberland Posey

Zelmo Beaty