Texas Swimming Wins Back-To-Back National Championships











The Texas Longhorn athletics program added another championship to their long list banners. The Texas Men’s Swimming and Diving Team won it’s second straight championship when they recorded 541.5 points at the championship meet. The California Golden Bears came in second with 351.

Texas tied Michigan for number one all-time with 12 NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Team titles. Texas head coach Eddie Reese is the only coach in the sport’s history to win a NCAA team title in four separate decades. Reese also became the NCAA all-time leader in championships, as his 12th passed Ohio State’s Mike Peppe. Someone should buy Drake tickets, because he just won back-to-back.

Texas was led by Jack Conger, Clark Smith, Townley Haas, and Joseph Schooling. Texas will attempt to become the first three peat champion for the first time since Auburn won five straight championships from 2003-2007. Texas won the previous three championships in 2000-2003.