A History Of The Triple Crown

The excitement for a potentially historic Belmont Stakes is reaching heightened levels. American Pharoah is looking to dethrone Affirmed, who has held the coveted Triple Crown for 37 years. Having easily won both The Kentucky Derby and The Preakness, the American thoroughbred is highly favored going into Belmont.

There have been 11 Triple Crown Winners from 1919 – 1978, though none as decorated as the legendary Secretariat. Back in 1973, the young colt broke the time records for all three tracks, which still have yet to be broken. Secretariat is the most decorated horse that has graced the track, but this weekend will be all about American Pharoah.

This Infographic below gives a rundown of how others have fared on their quest to win The Triple Crown:

Embed Code:

<div id="infoactive-iframe-container-1"></div>
<script type="text/javascript" src="https://dqzzm1bt1bnva.cloudfront.net/assets/pym-e680fb6a638cee55ea074e8950141e59d8dd6c69546446a60230637884c07abb.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">(function() { var iFrameLoader = new pym.Parent("infoactive-iframe-container-1","https://infoactive.co/plays/50369", {}); }());
</script><a style="display: block; text-align: center;" href="https://rukkus.com/category/sports-tickets/" target="_blank">Triple Crown</a>

Add a Comment